16
Mar
10

hard to live without a lay

In my last post, one reader’s comments explained that one reason people may have extramarital affairs is for the attraction of being bad, and the excitement of doing it in secret. Another very common reason that I’ve repeatedly encountered while travelling, is that a lot of women feel not an impulsive urge to have sex (as many men do when they see someone who excites them), but they have a physical need for it.

Women have told me I’m insane when I talk about often going six months or even years without any physical contact from the opposite sex; their average threshold seems to be around three months before they have to find a partner. It’s no surprise then that when I’m volunteering, I find a huge number of females with locals guys, much more than guys with local girls. And many of them have serious boyfriends back home who they continue to talk with on the phone, as if nothing has changed.

I understand women’s need for physicality, even if I don’t share it (I enjoy sex to the fullest when I have it, but I don’t need it), and I often say that if I had a committed partner who was unable to be with me for a period of time (in a long distance relationship, or for whatever reason), I wouldn’t object to her finding someone to fill the physical void that she needs while we’re apart, as long as it’s just about getting laid; what would bother me is if she replaced our intellectual or intimate connection at the same time. But there’s probably no need to tell me about it, because as long as I trust her, I’m not going to wonder or ask.. 😉


0 Responses to “hard to live without a lay”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Subscribe to receive blogs by email