24
Aug
09

Fu¢k buddies, and nothing more?

When I think about this topic, the first thing that comes to mind is a scene from the movie Vanilla Sky (the American remake of the Spanish film Abre los ojos). Tom Cruise and Cameron Diaz play characters with a somewhat undefined relationship (his best friend referring to her as his “fu¢k buddy”, and her playing along in the beginning as if her feelings aren’t strong for him either). Later on in the movie, she gets a little hysterical, telling him something like, “You fu¢ked me three times in one night, I swallowed your cum; that means something”. He sits there wondering what the hell she’s talking about, while she has no clue why he can’t understand the significance. From the conversations I’ve been having, it seems like a lot of people are still in the dark when it comes to the ties between sex and emotion, and how it differentiates between women and men.

In order to create a discussion around this, I need to make some huge generalizations about both sexes, so bear with me (and I have no idea how this applies to gay and bisexual beings, or to people working in the sex trade, so I encourage you to share your viewpoints as comments, whether they differ or follow suit).

I know that for many men, the physical act of having sex does not have a lasting emotional effect that automatically correlates to the seriousness of a relationship, in the way it often does for women. We can do it with someone once, twice, or a hundred times, and it can remain nothing more than a physical pleasure we enjoy without thinking or looking for more from our partner. It has nothing to do with how much we do or don’t care about the person; our emotional feelings are in a separate part of our head. Good sex can make us want to get closer to somebody, and intimate moments before, during and after can intensify feelings, but they aren’t an automatic consequence of intercourse.

With just about every woman I’ve talked to this about, I’ve been told in the beginning of the conversation that they can definitely have sex without getting attached, but the more I probe, the less likely that seems to be true. One night stands (which are easy for a woman to find when she feels the need) may be an exception, but even they seem to create an emotional desire (if the sex was good) that sometimes continues through fantasies and pining, days or weeks after the encounter. Even cheating on somebody seems to start out as a physical thing for many women, but it often seems to turn into thoughts about the future, more demands for time and attention, and huge complications that the guys didn’t see coming when they took the women’s words and intentions literally.

I’ve actually recognized myself being less receptive and outgoing in bed at times, when I sense my partner becoming emotionally attached, after telling me she wanted nothing more than to have sex from the onset (which put me into that mentality). I think this is one of the problems: when men say something like that, they mean it and follow through with their words; when women say it, they may want nothing more than a good screw going in, but they can’t often control their emotions, and their needs and desires start to change.

So what I’m curious to know about is how women who think they’re capable of having sex repeatedly with the same person over a prolonged period of time (without getting attached) do it? Do you have to make an effort to stop yourself from getting emotionally involved? Do you suppress feelings, or have you learned to detach the act of sex from the art of falling for someone? Are there certain types of partners that are easier to do this with, and others who need to be avoided at all costs? Are there any guys out there who feel like they can’t separate sex from feelings? Any other related insight or comments to share?


12 Responses to “Fu¢k buddies, and nothing more?”


  1. 1 claire
    August 24, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I am one of a very few women i know who can completely detach sex from love, or from any emotion. For me, the act of sex is like eating a good meal – satisyfying, and hopefully leaves a lingering sense of pleasure, but can just as easily be forgotten. i like sleeping with a person who i love, or care deeply about, but it’s not a pre-requisite for me. simply being there, in that moment, and being turned on is enough.

    Many men however don’t believe me when i say this, or don’t trust in it, especially with prolonged sexual relationships. i’ve found myself having to repeatedly explain that i have no desire to be a “girlfriend”. Often, it’s the men who feel put out by it though, and have the most difficulty in accepting that the two things don’t need to combine in my mind. i do always insist on honesty though.

    With my boyfriend at the moment, we had a purely sexual relationship for over a year. It wasn’t until we both decided that we actually got on well that we began to allow emotions to infiltrate. For me however it was a conscious decision. For my boyfriend, i think it was a natural progression.

    I would say however that it’s easier for women to become attached to a man when they have had sex with them. Maybe the endorphin rush or something. The line becomes more blurred the more other things attach to a sexual relationship – breakfast in bed etc. and i confess to having had a broken heart a few times when i’ve broken my own rules. But that’s the exception, rather than the rule.

  2. 2 Anonymous
    August 25, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    I can get easily attached to someone I had sex with if I like him and feel the person is special: but it is not just sex (which most of the cases, isnt that good at all at the very beginning) As much as I get to know the person (before, after and during sex) I can get attracted (or not) and intense feelings may appear.
    Lately I ve been in situations where the rules were clear since the very beginning: pure sex. Or where we know there wont be anything else. In both situations feelings where no problem even if sharing more than some nights/days in bed. Emotions where there but at a different level (friend/lover). So I believe it is possible and no such a hard task for women. Even if i agree that we are more emotional than guys and we need to control our emotions more from time to time.
    But I had met guys who will go crazy after sex and even get too serious about it and made me run away as fast as I could. So I dont think it is just a girly issue but it may depend on our expections, needs and feelings at that moment.

  3. 3 tiko
    August 26, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    I know lots of men who can not separate sex and love. I am very careful about learning this about potential partners as I try to make sure that our potential needs have the potential for being met before taking it too far. Sex is different from romantic love. If I go into a sexual relationship knowing that it’s just sex I have never gotten attached. Maybe I’m missing something? Maybe I’ve reached an awesome place. 🙂

    Sex when open to love can quickly become a strong method of attachment. This can be used to keep a long term relationship fresh, or up the bond on a new relationship. I love my boyfriend of 3 years and love bonding with him physically. It increases our bond so much.

    I really don’t think it’s a gender issue, but I can agree on gross generalizations for the sexes. I’m very intentional about the people I include in my life. They’re conscious, consciencious, and usually very in touch with their sexuality. I’m told I’m in a bubble of awesome because I don’t get the same kind of limiting experiences some do in regards to sex. Come visit me sometime & I’ll introduce you to my friends.

  4. 4 Es
    February 12, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    I’m a hopeless romantic so I probably should’t comment though every body is entitled to get their groove on.

  5. 5 sanjeev
    March 6, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    hi brian,
    have been honestly contemplating on writing, well let me share with you, sex is a beautiful state of mind, gender is just showing the male stupid ego, i would take you the tribes i visited in east of india, its so beautiful, when a women is in her pubirty, she is allowed to bang any guy every night till she ends, she enjoys the sexual energy which is at its peak at that age, once she feels, she needs to settle down, she is wanting to get into the tribe hood of marriage, its so beautiful, i dont really advocate commune, where the child is taken care by the clans, to gather, but its a wonderful experience that all is well, the women gets married at the age of say 18, she has experienced sex with so many many, she understands the energy, its a gift of god, we in society have made sex such a big tabbo, where as i am of the school of thought that man and women are born polygamus, i dont regret marriage, but the confidants or the keepers of marriage were corrupt people, who put dogmas to it, be sincere to your wife or husband, dont you consider rape, when you have sex with your parter and dream of someone else, i call it mental rape, which this society has been doing coz of these conditioning in mind. when we were young of any age, any caste, any religion, we were so badly fed, about marriage, virginity, man its all bull shit,poor diania, sex is so beautiful, man or women, we must enjoy it with people we meet, love is a by product of sex, it happens or not
    so dont ever feel guilt, and dont ever repent that this relationship was emotional, but did not prove fruitful, there is nothing like this, every experience is so beautiful, just pick up the best of it and move on, dont complain. you would be a better soul, explainig the other, that she or he should not feel depressed, every relationship has an expiry date, so move on and be happy, have fun, this is the only mantra of living life in totality.
    a man and women are the same where hearts are concerned, they feel the same, they experience the same ejaculations,they are divided to feel, man is at head, and women is at heart, may be my experience says, every man and women are half and half, the half of women is predominet in the cases where heart is more strong and vice versa, the head is strong in a women where the male is predominet, so lets follow the nature as its made us and enjoy.
    love

    • 6 notallmen
      March 11, 2010 at 2:04 pm

      sanjeev, i remember an article coming out in a chandigarh newspaper about this topic when i was in town, which i was a bit surprised to see in india. i guess it’s sometimes easier to talk about things and fantasize or glorify them, than it is to actually live them out..

  6. 7 star
    April 16, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I really envy men concerning this topic. How hard I try to get my emotions to involve, how more they will come in… I hate it! I wish I could be like men, but what I wonder is why men and women are so different in this case? For which purpose?

    • 8 notallmen
      April 20, 2010 at 4:40 pm

      well star, wish there was a simple answer, but the best one i can give is ‘because.’ whatever the reasoning, we don’t seem capable of evolving emotionally as quickly as we desire. maybe talking about it will allow it to enter our psyche, and have an effect down the road. but i wouldn’t bet on it just yet..

  7. 9 Kampala
    September 25, 2012 at 3:57 pm

    Hey, i love the stories told here. i actually got my pants hard…


Leave a comment


Subscribe to receive blogs by email